The original building which became Beech Village Hall started life in 1894 as a printing works operated by Messrs Vaus and Crampton. In 1909 a private buyer acquired the premises, and in 1931 sold the property, by then known as “Hedge Grove”, to Beech resident Nellie Asser for £450. A year later, Mrs Asser transferred the property to the village for use as a village hall. The original structure housed a bar-lounge, kitchen and cloakrooms. Around 1960, General Morgan Owen bequeathed the recreation ground to the village. Both amenities are managed on behalf of the village by the Beech Village Hall & Recreation Ground Charitable Trust.
The Wellhouse
In 2025 we totally refurbished the old Annexe to create the Wellhouse. Our new health and wellbeing space, The Wellhouse was opened in January 2026.
Thanking Our Funders
We are incredibly grateful to our funders, whose support has helped turn the dream of the Wellhouse into a reality:
- Veolia Environmental Trust
- The National Lottery Community Fund
- Beech Parish Council Community Infrastructure Levy (CIL)
- Alton Town Council (CIL)
- East Hampshire District Council (CIL)
- Garfield Weston Foundation
- Enterprise Mobility
We also wish to thank the members of our local community for their generosity in helping to provide the comfortable, welcoming furnishings within the space.
The build took place between August and November 2025. You can explore by visiting our blog.






